CHICKEN SCRATCH (The Sisters, Texas Series Book 1) by Becki Willis

I picked up this book a few years ago and it has patiently been sitting on my to be read shelf in real live paper form!  Packing to take a trip, I threw it in my bag.  Gosh, I wish I had not waited but I’m so glad I read it.  It was a lot of fun.

Madison, the main character, has been placed between a rock and a hard place and is doing the best she can with 15 year old twins in her old hometown.  If you come from a small town and have moved away, think for a moment about moving back.  Yeah – you get it.  Now add in a new business of temporary work and one of your initial jobs is walking chicken houses.  I never knew what was involved in that but let’s just say it’s not on my dream job list.  Add in finding a dead body in one of the houses!  The lead police officer who shows up is Madison’s high school crush, still looking wonderful.  The story just took off with all the elements that make for a great read.  Wonderful, fully developed supporting cast and a grandmother that keeps everyone entertained.

This series is definitely going on my list of books I need to keep reading.  OH, and catch it now as the whole series is currently on Kindle Unlimited.

For more about this author and all their books, CLICK HERE.


Named 2016 Best Mystery Series by Texas Association of Authors. (2017, 18, & 20, too!)

When Madison Reynolds finds herself widowed and penniless before forty, she does the only thing she knows to do – she packs up her teenage twins and moves back home with her eighty-year-old grandmother. Life in The Sisters, Texas has not changed much since she’s been gone, but at least her best friend Genesis is there to soften the transition back into small-town life.

To make ends meet, Madison opens In a Pinch Temporary Services. Her first real client is Ronny Gleason, but when she shows up for the first day of work at the Gleason Poultry Farm, Madison makes a gruesome discovery. The dead body she finds belongs to Mr. Gleason. When a local man is arrested for murder, Madison takes on the job of proving his innocence. Even though she is not a private investigator, both mothers are desperate: Lucy Ngyen to clear her son’s name, and Madison to pay her bills. But as she begins asking questions around town, her interference is not welcome.

With a daughter determined to go back to Dallas, a son settling into small town life, a feisty grandmother who knows all the town gossip, bill collectors calling, and now someone trying to keep her silent, Madison has no time for re-kindling her high school crush with police chief Brash deCordova. She has her hands full just trying to stay alive.

If she survives her amateur investigation, Maddy has a decision to make. Will she go back to her life in Dallas, or will she build a new life here in The Sisters?

2 thoughts on “CHICKEN SCRATCH (The Sisters, Texas Series Book 1) by Becki Willis

  1. Thank you so much for reading! Madison and her family invite you back to explore more of The Sisters.
    Rose by Any Other Name (Book 10) recently won the Silver Falchion Award at Killer Nashville for Best Cozy. I’m currently creating snags and snafus for Book 13, Superstitions and Apparitions, which debuts in March. Please visit again!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s