Sweet Comfort – Lone Star Literary Book Tour

Comfort and Joy Trilogy, #1
Women’s Fiction / Later-In-Life Romance
Second-Chance Romance / Cozy Mystery
Publisher: Fish Tales
Page Count: 359 pages
Publication Date: January 21, 2023
Scroll down for a giveaway!
Welcome to the hometown everyone wants to call their own.
Gloria Bachman, a retired bank executive, has eight weeks to flip a location on Comfort’s High Street into a boutique chocolate shop. Defying expectations for “women of a certain age,” Gloria rediscovers talents and a sharpening of skills. If only she could read people as well as she does a spreadsheet. Even with the renovation in good hands, the subsequent struggle to name the shop brings Gloria and her business partner into conflict with a shady citizen. While Gloria is capable of remaining in her retirement rut while opening a business, two competing social groups try to lure her into their networks, causing Gloria to wonder if she ever knew Comfort at all. A murder rocks the community and revives investigative instincts honed by years in the banking industry.
Mason Lassiter, a disgraced CEO, has his own dramas to escape and the offbeat town seems the perfect place to recover his self-esteem. What was to be a quick reversal of fortunes becomes a quest to right a deeply felt injustice. Fascinated by the women driving the energy of Comfort, he extends his stay to find out why the small town is the backdrop to their best tales. Tangling with his neighbor Gloria becomes his favorite pastime and the key to unlocking the mystery of his past—if he can convince her to trust him.
Chocolate and joy become the glue bringing an unlikely cast together, which just might change Gloria’s and Mason’s course for the better. With characters familiar from previous Comfort novels and introducing fresh names, Sweet Comfort will entertain those who like their stories seasoned with coziness and sweet, second chances.


Having read many books by this author and saying in past reviews that I wanted to visit her frequent story location of Comfort, TX again, I was thrilled to see this book! This is the first in the new Comfort and Joy Trilogy the author is creating.

The main character, Gloria, is embarking on a new life and using all her skills and events of her past to create and grow. Gloria is independent and works hard at maintaining that. However the town of Comfort is a web where the strings (or people) are all entwined and reactive to each other. As Gloria tries to maintain her separate lifestyle, she slowly opens to the possibilities being offered by the town and its inhabitants. A new chocolate shop is her first foray into the retail world. With an incredible partner and chocolatier and her logical banking background, she is up to the task. Or is she? Everything does not go exactly as portrayed on a spreadsheet. The author took me on some amusing twists and turns that I enjoyed with each page swipe.

Ok, side discussion here. Being a woman comfortable in my own skin and slightly past that middle age number, I at times, get tired of characters that do not reflect the now me. There are many days that I would not know I wasn’t in my 30s if it wasn’t for those pesky mirrors, but I know I am not.  However this author creates characters that are 4D and people I feel like I could easily slip into a friendship with. The jury is still out on whether I am a Knitter or a Bunco person – time and hopefully the next book will help determine that. Speaking of which, there is a peek at the next book at the end of this one and I happily saw that Gloria is staying center stage!

Kimberly Fish has been a professional writer in marketing and media for over thirty years, with regular contributions to area newspapers and magazines. As an accidental historian, she wrote two novels, The Big Inch and Harmon General, both based on factual events in Longview, Texas that changed world history. Kimberly also offers a set of contemporary women’s fiction novels and novellas, based in the Texas Hill Country, that reveal her fascination with characters discovering their grit and sweet, second chances; all four of the novels have won distinguished awards. Sweet Comfort is her latest novel, the first book in the Comfort and Joy Trilogy.

Website * Instagram * Twitter * Facebook * Goodreads

Amazon * YouTube * Pinterest * BookBub


Two winners each receive a signed copy of Sweet Comfort plus a box of
Sweet Shop USA candies!
(US only; ends midnight, CST, 3/31/23)

a Rafflecopter giveaway




blog services provided

One thought on “Sweet Comfort – Lone Star Literary Book Tour

  1. I love to hear that there are 4D, relatable to past-midlife me characters in the story! And a little mystery and a lot of chocolate is ALWAYS a good thing. Thanks for the review!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s